Dairy-Free Protein Bars

dairy cows in fieldWant a Protein Bar that Doesn’t Have Dairy or Whey?

Dairy (or whey) is a popular form of protein when it comes to protein powders protein bars for body builders. The reason for this is that it is considered a high-quality protein that helps build strong muscles.

But I Don’t Want Dairy…

However, if you are allergic, your body can’t tolerate dairy or you simply don’t want to consume it, you will need to find another source of protein. The good news is that there are plenty of options, but sometimes it can be difficult to know what to choose and where to find it.

Even if you can eat dairy products, there are a number of reasons why you might want to avoid it. Carla Sanborn, author of The Dairy-Free Diet, says eating a dairy-free diet can help people gain muscle mass and shed body weight. She also says that dairy foods are the cause of more food allergies than most other foods combined. (You may be having a skin problem or constant congestion and never even realize that it’s from the food you’re eating!)

And What About Soy?

Many protein bars use soy protein isolate as one of their main ingredients. The problem with this, however, is that soy produced in the USA is typically genetically modified, and soy as “soy protein isolate” is highly processed – much different than a fresh organic soybean.

By avoiding both whey and soy, a shopper greatly reduces her options when it comes to protein bars. But all is not lost – there is more good news!

More Good News About Dairy-Free Protein Bars?

With the growing interest in the paleo lifestyle, new snacks and food products have been introduced to the market – including paleo protein bars. These typically don’t contain gluten, grain, sugar, soy or dairy. Therefore, if you look for products labeled “paleo”, you are likely to find ¬†protein bars (and all sorts of other items) that are dairy free.

NOTE: Of couse, as with all product packaging, you want to read the product ingredient list to make sure that what the product advertises is actually what is contained.

amrpa barThe AMRAP Bar, for example, contains egg white protein vs the typical whey or soy protein. According to a blog post at Mark’s Daily Apple, egg white protein is a highly bioavailable protein choice for people looking to add more protein to their diet.

Cara Rennie, PaleoBarChart.com
About the Author: Cara Rennie is a paleo cooking chef, writer and advocate for healthy living. With over a decade of experience in the culinary industry, Cara has established herself as an expert in the paleo lifestyle, emphasizing the use of natural ingredients that promote a balanced and sustainable lifestyle. She firmly believes in the power of food to transform people's lives, while helping others discover the joys of paleo eating. Facebook | Pinterest